Fake Download Open Office 2009 – Credit Card Fraud

October 12, 2008


This morning I’ve discovered another funny Fraud attempt, based on a fake membership to Download Open Office 2009. This is the mail that I’ve received:


Open Office Suite 2009

Open, Create & Edit Your Files
Download Office Suite 2009??Here
Edit Word, Excel & Power Point files- 100% MS Office Compatible.

Office Solutions

Read and write PDF files just like Adobe.
Here’s how to download Open Office 2009:
1. Go to: Download Page
2. Download Open Office 2009
3. Receive access immediately
This software package is the best way to edit your documents.
Publish all of your documents online in the HTML format.
Thank you for choosing us, the worldwide leader in Open Office 2009.
For More Information Visit our Website
Thank You,

David Matthews

If you want to stop receiving mail, please go to:
or you may contact us at the following address:

Plaza Neptuno, local #7
Via ricardo J Alfaro, Tumba Muerto
Panama Ciudad
Republica de Panama


Republica de Panama? and OpenOffice?..that really strange you don’t !?!?

but let see this ‘great offer’..by clicking on the link reported into mail we are suddenly prompted to:

and also this as you should understand sounds strange.. OpenOffice Website that is based upon an IP..

A classical well designed fake page, now let’s click on download, and as we can see we are asked for Membership, after filling email and Name/Surname fields appears the core of the Scam, the Membership to Be Activated needs a Credit Card Payment ūüėČ

After accepting we are infront off a classical phishing form that contains:

  • Name
  • Surname
  • Location
  • PostalCode
  • E-Mail
  • Cc Number
  • CcV2
  • Scad

Here you can see the screenshot:

After clicking system “validates” you transaction and the fraud is successfully completed ūüôā

Here some information about the used IP

IP Information for

IP Location: United States United States South Bend Colostore.com
IP Address:
Blacklist Status: Clear

Whois Record

OrgName:    Colostore.com
OrgID:      KCA-7
Address:    1805 South Michigan Street
City:       South Bend
StateProv:  IN
PostalCode: 46613
Country:    US

ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.colostore.com:4321/

OriginAS:   AS12260
NetHandle:  NET-67-214-160-0-1
Parent:     NET-67-0-0-0-0
NetType:    Direct Allocation
Comment:    http://www.colostore.com
RegDate:    2007-09-28
Updated:    2008-07-21

See you to the next post.. ūüôā