Hi,
This morning I’ve discovered another funny Fraud attempt, based on a fake membership to Download Open Office 2009. This is the mail that I’ve received:
—————————————————————–
Open Office Suite 2009
Office Solutions
Read and write PDF files just like Adobe.
Here’s how to download Open Office 2009:
1. Go to: Download Page
2. Download Open Office 2009
3. Receive access immediately
This software package is the best way to edit your documents.
Publish all of your documents online in the HTML format.
Thank you for choosing us, the worldwide leader in Open Office 2009.
For More Information Visit our Website
Thank You,
David Matthews
http://daily–new-product.org/
Plaza Neptuno, local #7
Via ricardo J Alfaro, Tumba Muerto
Panama Ciudad
Republica de Panama
—————————————————————–
Republica de Panama? and OpenOffice?..that really strange you don’t !?!?
but let see this ‘great offer’..by clicking on the link reported into mail we are suddenly prompted to:
http://67.214.168.130/openoffice/index.asp?aff=001&camp=openoffice_espd&kbid=1587&sub=oo_espd&pop=1
and also this as you should understand sounds strange.. OpenOffice Website that is based upon an IP..
A classical well designed fake page, now let’s click on download, and as we can see we are asked for Membership, after filling email and Name/Surname fields appears the core of the Scam, the Membership to Be Activated needs a Credit Card Payment
After accepting we are infront off a classical phishing form that contains:
- Name
- Surname
- Location
- PostalCode
- Cc Number
- CcV2
- Scad
Here you can see the screenshot:
After clicking system “validates” you transaction and the fraud is successfully completed
Here some information about the used IP
IP Information for 67.214.168.130
Whois Record
OrgName:Â Â Â Â Colostore.com
OrgID:Â Â Â Â Â Â KCA-7
Address:    1805 South Michigan Street
City:       South Bend
StateProv:Â Â IN
PostalCode:Â 46613
Country:Â Â Â Â US
ReferralServer:Â rwhois://rwhois.colostore.com:4321/
NetRange:Â Â Â 67.214.160.0Â -Â 67.214.191.255
CIDR:Â Â Â Â Â Â Â 67.214.160.0/19
OriginAS:Â Â Â AS12260
NetName:Â Â Â Â COLOSTORE-COM
NetHandle:Â Â NET-67-214-160-0-1
Parent:Â Â Â Â Â NET-67-0-0-0-0
NetType:    Direct Allocation
NameServer:Â NS1.COLOSTORE.COM
NameServer:Â NS2.COLOSTORE.COM
Comment:Â Â Â Â http://www.colostore.com
RegDate:Â Â Â Â 2007-09-28
Updated:Â Â Â Â 2008-07-21
See you to the next post..


thank you for taking a step to stop this, me personally i received the same email, but i suspected it because when i clicked it didnt direct me to the website of open office, so i decide to go to the site but the release that was there is 3.x.x.x not 2009
God bless
I wish I would have seen this before I got suckered into trying to buy the product. I paid threw paypal…instead of getting a download page I got a broken link…2 hrs later and 5 emails with the exact same links, I asked for my money back….funny they can get my money instantly out of my paypal but they claim it will take 4 to 10 business days for me to get my money back. I wished I would have looked into them better, but they are sneeky they dont even tell you what company they are really untill after you pay…and the company is Advance Telecom Inc. if you look them up you will find they have done this alot with other programs as well…..like seling avg 7.xxxx a free download and passing it off as an upgraded full version avg8.
Hi
Yeah, I got the same mail and needed the dang thing to open a book dokument I´d written while working in a Windows environment.
I never got anywhere from those addresses.
So it was a scam?
Just my luck!
Thanks for your vigilance!
Juuso
Hi,
Thank you for the comments people!
feedbacks are always good to read!
Juuso, yes this is another for of Scam
Regards,
Giuseppe ‘Evilcry’ Bonfa’
Hey thanks for this update on this latest scam…..I recently got a similar email but the name of the sender was changed to “Greg Matthews” instead of “David Matthews”….
I just got one from the same people after I downloaded open office.
sender was Greg Matthews as well.
Hi, possibly our post may be off topic but anyways, I’ve been browsing around your blog and it looks really neat. It is obvious that you know your subject and you are fervent about it. I’m creating a fresh weblog and I’m striving to make it look great, plus provide the best quality information. I’ve gleaned much at your website and also I anticipate additional quality information and will be back soon. Thanks.
For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise.